Sandburg

Competitive Clubs

Competitive Clubs compete against outside teams, other high schools, in a variety of tournaments, matches, and competitions as part of a structured regional or national league.  These clubs have coaches/sponsors and attend regularly scheduled practices.

 
BASS FISHING
The bass fishing club provides an opportunity for anglers, regardless of experience, to learn all aspects of fishing. Experienced anglers participate in tournament fishing with the possibility to win an IHSA state championship. 
Sponsors: Jim Corcoran & Scott Plaisier
Emails: jcorcoran@d230.org & splaisier@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-231 on Tuesdays between 3-5 PM
 
 
CHESS TEAM
Sandburg Chess team players learn to recognize the importance of their own strategies processes while sharing, developing and improving their chess skills. The team competes in several matches each year in the SWSC conference and membership is open.
Sponsor: Patrick Latortue
Email: platortue@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-150 on Monday-Thursday between 3-5:45 PM
 
 
CONTEST PLAY
Contest Play is an IHSA sanctioned event where the kids put together a 40 minute version of a full stage play: Set, lights, sound fx, etc. and then travel with the show to other schools to compete for the chance to perform the play at the State Finals in March.
Sponsor: Geoff Epperson
Email: gepperson@d230.org 
Meeting Information:  Meets in the PAC on Monday-Friday between 3-6PM and on Sundays on 10AM-3PM 
 
 
DEBATE
The Debate Team's goal is to enhance research, speaking, writing, and critical thinking skills. Students compete in various tournaments, debating a variety of real-world topics. 
Sponsor: Lainee McGraw
Email:  lmcgraw@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-213 on Monday-Thursday between 3-6PM
 
 
GROUP INTERPRETATION
Group Interpretation is an IHSA sanctioned competition whereby students perform an interpretation of a literary work within a thirty minute period of time, with five minutes to set up and strike a set.
Sponsors: Geoff Epperson & Chrissi Petropulos
Emails:  gepperson@d230.org & cpetropulos@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-205 on the 1st Thursday of every month and every Thursday in February between 3-4PM
 
 
MATHLETES
Math Team creates a competitive place for students who enjoy mathematics to learn problem-solving techniques used in competition. Membership is open.
Sponsor: Dan Olsen
Email: dolsen@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in C-212 & E-217 on Tuesdays and Thursdays (Calc. only on Fridays) between 3-5PM
 
 
ROBOTICS CLUB
The purpose of the Robotics Team is to inspire young people to be science and technology leaders.  Students will design, build, and program a fully functioning robot for competition.
Sponsors: David Brewczynski & Abdallah Faraj
Emails: dbrewczynski@d230.org & afaraj@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-140 & S-143 Monday-Thursday (Oct.-April) and Saturday/Sundays (Jan-April) between 3-6PM
 
 
SCHOLASTIC BOWL
Scholastic Bowl is a competitive academic “quiz bowl” similar to “Jeopardy.” The team participates in SWSC tournaments. Membership is open.
Sponsors: Mike Wooley & Jeff Brigham
Emails: mwooley@d230.org & jbrigham@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in N-113 on Tuesdays and Wednesdays between 3-5PM
 
 
SKILLS USA-APPL. TECH.
Preparing for leadership in the world of work. Students apply skills learned in applied technology courses and compete at various levels. Membership limited to qualified students in an Applied Tech or FACS course. 
Sponsor: Chris Komer
Email: ckomer@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-140 on Wednesdays between 3-4PM
 
 
SPECIAL OLYMPICS
Special Olympics is a global organization that unleashes the human spirit through the trans-formative power and joy of sports and social opportunities. All are welcome to participate or lend a hand as a mentor/volunteer within our club. Go Eagles!
Sponsors: Peggy Bryce & Ramis Habboub
Emails: pbryce@d230.org & rhabboub@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-155/S-156 on Mondays between 3-4:30 PM
 
 
SPEECH TEAM
The Speech Team provides an opportunity for students to develop speaking, interpretation and acting skills in a nurturing, friendly environment. Discover how much fun public speaking can be! 
Sponsor: Nora Nerius
Email: nnerius@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets Monday-Friday in October-March between 3-6PM
 
 
WYSE
WYSE (Worldwide Youth in Science & Engineering) is an academic composition offering students opportunities to challenge their math and science skills and problem-solving abilities in a variety of areas. Students compete at various levels.
Sponsors: Jen Pierce & Christina Soldan
Emails: jpierce@d230.org & csoldan@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-151 on Tuesdays between 3-5PM
 

Mr. Greg Gardner
Assistant Principal
708-671-3126
ggardner@d230.org

Twitter: @SandburgHS

 

Mrs. Ariel Palacios
Administrative Assistant
708-671-3117
AHesse@d230.org

Monthly Newsletter

Recent Media

close (X)