Sandburg

Social Justice Clubs

Social Justice Clubs provide opportunities for self-transformation, leadership, and community building to students in order to affect meaningful change in their classrooms, at Carl Sandburg High School, and in their communities.

FEMPOWER
Fempower is Carl Sandburg’s feminist club. The club works to promote gender equality and help women in the community and globally. Open to all interested students! 
Sponsors: Kristin Mattera & Traci Mitchell
Emails: kmattera@d230.org & tmitchell@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-248 on Tuesdays

 

FRIENDSHIP CONNECTION
The Friendship Connection Club is for both regular and special needs students. The main purpose of the club is to enhance the lives of students with special needs by providing opportunities for one-one friendships and increased participation in extracurricular school / community activities. 
Sponsors: Jen Mulheran, Stacey Ardizzone, & Becky Malecki
Emails: jmulheran@d230.org, sardizzone@d230.org, & bmalecki@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-134 on Wednesdays between 3-4PM
 
 
SAGA (GSA)
The gay straight alliance is a group that meets twice a month to provide a safe space for all members of the straight, LGBTQ and non-binary communities within the Sandburg family.
Sponsor: Geoff Epperson
Email: gepperson@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets between 3-4PM 
 
 
SADD
Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) is a group of students helping other students make positive decisions about the challenges in their everyday lives. Membership is open.
Sponsor: Kelly Mendoza
Email: kmendoza@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in N-212 every other Monday between 3-4PM
 
 
SNOWBALL
Operation Snowball is a district-wide program that gives all students the opportunity to participate in various community building activities throughout the school year and to attend a leadership retreat in early February. This retreat is a three-day program that focuses on leadership skills, healthy choices, strong friendships, and self-realization. 
Sponsor: Jessica Kaffel
Email: jkaffel@d230.org
Meeting Information: Retreat weekend is November 17-19th
 

Mr. Greg Gardner
Assistant Principal
708-671-3126
ggardner@d230.org

Twitter: @SandburgHS

 

Mrs. Ariel Palacios
Administrative Assistant
708-671-3117
AHesse@d230.org

Recent Media

close (X)