Sandburg

Special Interest Clubs

Special Interest Clubs allow groups of students who share common interests to meet and carry out activities as organized bodies for educational or recreational purposes.

 
ANIME CLUB
Anime Club is a social club that meets 3 times a month to watch new and classic Anime. 
Sponsor: Joe Geiger
Email: jgeiger@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in N-101 on Mondays between 3-4PM
 
 
ART CLUB
Art Club offers students the opportunity to make Art for the benefit of others.  Membership is limited to the first 40 applicants. 
Sponsor: Wes Gonzalez
Email: wgonzalez@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in N-218 on Tuesdays between 3-4PM
 
 
AUTO CLUB
Auto Club offers students experiences in the automotive repair and maintenance industry.  Auto I experience preferred.
Sponsor: Dan Jurzec
Email: djurzec@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in the Auto Shop every other Thursday between 3-6PM
 
 
CLIMBING CLUB
Climbing club provides an opportunity for students interested in rock climbing and outdoor adventure to gain valuable experience and skill in both areas. Club members utilize the climbing facilities at Sandburg as well as local climbing facilities.
Sponsors: Scott Plaisier & Jim Fabianski
Emails: splaisier@d230.org & jfabianski@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in the Blue Gym every other Thursday between 6:30-8:30PM
 
 
CULINARY ARTS CLUB
The Culinary Arts club brings people interested in culinary arts and food service together at least once a month to cook and learn about cooking techniques, ethnic foods and to prepare for competition.
Sponsors: Lee Angel & Lisa Greenhill
Emails: langel@d230.org & lgreenhill@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in C-107/E-134A every other Wednesday between 3-4PM
 
 
FASHION CLUB
Join the fashion club to discuss, learn and experience first hand the amazing world of fashion.
Sponsors: Julie Heinlen & Heidi Sims
Emails: jheinlen@d230.org & hsims@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-099 on Tuesdays between 3-4PM
 
 
GRAPHIC ARTS CLUB
Members learn how to use Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator to create a variety of different projects. Members will learn how to Screen Print, Heat Transfer Print use both Inkjet and Color Laser Printers. We will help out other clubs, activities and athletics with designing projects and printing projects up to our capabilities
Sponsor: Will Vasich
Email: wvasich@d230.org
Meeting Information: See S-164 every other Wednesday between 3-4:30PM
 
 
MINDFULNESS CLUB
Take a moment out of you day and re-energize with the Mindfulness Club. We meet every Thursday after school in an inviting and reflective environment.
Sponsor: Michelle Hoven
Email: mhoven@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-235 on Thursdays between 3-4PM
 
 
PROM COMMITTEE
The Prom Committee works together to plan the junior/senior prom held in the spring. Together they make decisions concerning theme, favors, food, decorations, music, etc. Membership is open to juniors and seniors. 
Sponsor: Jamie Osmanski
Email: josmanski@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-108 on Tuesdays (Nov-April) between 3-4PM

 
SANDBURG EATS
Sandburg Eats is a club dedicated to reviewing restaurants in the Chicago Area and sharing them with students in the school. We are also working to give back to the community.
Sponsor: Lisa Greenhill
Email: lgreenhill@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in E-134A on Mondays or Thursdays once a month from 3-4PM

 
SCIENCE CLUB
Science Club encourages students to incorporate science into school, community and students’ lives. Membership is open.
Sponsors: Ewa Mroz & Julie Kahn
Emails: emroz@d230.org & jkahn@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-106 every 2nd and 4th Tuesday of the month between 3-4PM
 
 
SUPERFANZ
Interested in being a part of one of the greatest student sections in the state? The SuperfanZ are looking for you! Join up and help run student tailgates, cheering at athletic events and building school spirit. 
Sponsor: George Fear & Ramis Habboub
Emails: gfear@d230.org & rhabboub@d230.org
 
 
WOODS CLUB
Woods club aims to further students’ knowledge of woodworking. Students work on various projects while learning how to safely handle the tools. Open to all students.
Sponsor: Mark Diorio
Email: mdiorio@d230.org
Meeting Information: Meets in S-162 every other Wednesday between 3-5PM
 

Mr. Greg Gardner
Assistant Principal
708-671-3126
ggardner@d230.org

Twitter: @SandburgHS

 

Mrs. Ariel Palacios
Administrative Assistant
708-671-3117
AHesse@d230.org

Recent Media

close (X)